How do you know if someone has blocked you on Snapchat? Social media is a funny beast. Being blocked implies that a friendship is in trouble, but that’s not always the case. Nonetheless, it’s understandable if you’re concerned about being blocked on Snapchat.
What happens when you block someone on Snapchat? They don’t get notified, so you don’t need to worry about that. But can they tell? If you think you have been blocked, how can you find out for sure? Here’s how to tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat.
What’s the Difference Between Blocked and Removed?
What’s the difference between being blocked and removed from Snapchat? The former is more “Scorched Earth” than being unfriended. Being blocked naturally cuts off all connections, whereas being deleted doesn’t.
If you have only been removed from Snapchat you won’t be able to see Stories unless they’re set to Everyone. If you’re blocked, however, nothing will appear regardless of the settings. You can’t really tell from the Discover menu though. You might have even been muted, which means they won’t see your Story but you remain friends.
The easiest way to tell whether you’ve been deleted or blocked is through the Chat function. If you can still see the person listed in your conversation, you haven’t been blocked. It could be that they’ve deleted you, but you haven’t removed them. However, this only works if you’ve spoken to them via the function recently.
You could also send them a Snap. Just do it as you normally would. Give it a few minutes, and if it reads “Pending”, you might have been deleted. Or maybe one or both of you doesn’t have a good enough internet connection.
Your other option is clicking on the contact’s profile. If you can see their Snapchat score (here’s how to improve your Snapchat Score) you haven’t been deleted.
Otherwise, you need to further learn how to tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat…
How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Snapchat
You won’t be notified when someone blocks you on Snapchat, so you need to look for other signs. Don’t worry, the steps you have to follow are really simple.
Can You View Recent Conversations?
As mentioned above, this is the simplest method, but doesn’t necessarily give you a definitive answer, especially if you’re feeling paranoid. And you clearly are because you’re here reading this article.
If you’ve had a recent conversation with the person you think may have blocked you, take a look. Navigate to the Chat screen and click on the relevant thread—if it’s still available. If not, the Chat was either too long ago, or it’s a sign you’ve been blocked. It isn’t a certainty, however.
Now, you need to look for confirmation.
Can You Search for Them?
If you can still remember their username, that’s great. If not, you can, in most cases, use their actual name for this function.
So how do you search for friends on Snapchat? Go back to the Chat screen, which lets you add Friends. At the top left of the interface, you’ll see your own profile, which might display your Story if you’ve added one in the previous 24 hours. Right next to this, there’s a magnifying glass icon. Click on this and search for the contact you’re worried has blocked you.
If they don’t appear, they have either blocked you or deleted their account.
Can Others Search for Them?
Blocking someone means they can’t find you at all. So how can you tell if you’ve been blocked or whether they’re no longer using Snapchat?
Your best option is to find someone else with Snapchat and ask if they can search for this contact’s username. They just need to use the same method as above.
Alternatively, you can set up a second Snapchat account. This feels like an over-the-top, perhaps even obsessive, way of finding out, though, so be wary of taking this step.
If they don’t appear, it’s likely they’ve deleted their own Snapchat. It’s bad news if they do appear though: they’ve blocked your other account.
Of course, if you see this person face-to-face sometime, you could casually ask whether they still use Snapchat.
Why Has Someone Removed You From Snapchat?
This is a difficult question, but it’s not necessarily something to worry about. There are a lot of potential reasons, though you might have to confront the idea that you’ve just drifted apart.
Firstly, it could have happened by mistake. Some friends disappear between updates or when someone changes phones; it shouldn’t happen, but does. If you think this is the case, send them a Chat or Snap. Make sure it’s not a fault with your device. If you’ve lost a lot of contacts from Snapchat, try re-adding those you’re closest to.
The reason might also be that you either post too often or too infrequently. Maybe your interests don’t align right now, so they’d rather not clutter up their feed with Stories they’re not particularly invested in. Perhaps they’re just busy right now, and don’t want to get distracted.
Removal can, at least, be undone easily, so if it has upset you, talk to them. But don’t get too precious; it’s only Snapchat and certainly doesn’t mean your friendship is over.
Why Has Someone Blocked You from Snapchat?
You’ll probably know the answer to this already. But if you’re seriously confused about why this has happened, it’s probably best to ask yourself whether you’ve been a nuisance.
We all know Snapchat can be used for NSFW purposes, but the number of people who actually send adult messages to other users is surprisingly small. In such cases, don’t be shocked if recipients block you.
If you don’t use Snapchat that way, there’s a chance it was a mistake, especially if you’re on good terms with the person who blocked you. If you have other contact information, get in touch there because Snapchat won’t let you talk to them on its platform.
Another possibility is that they’re ghosting you (what is ghosting and how do you deal with it?). It’s a horrible prospect, but if they’re the type of person who does that, they don’t deserve to be in your life anyway.
Is Snapchat Right for You?
Snapchat is all about making connections and building friendships. It’s about getting to know people on a day-to-day basis. But like all social networks it’s not worth getting upset about.
It’s only natural to feel hurt if you’ve been blocked or removed by someone you thought was a good friend. However, it isn’t the end of the world. If it’s seriously affected you, ask yourself, is Snapchat right for you?
Read the full article: How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Snapchat